Seven Links

So both Kristine of Rescued Insanity and AJ of PupLove nominated me for this Seven Links blogger thing. It was started by TripBase, and these are the rules:

Blogger publishes his/her 7 links on his/her blog – 1 link for each category.

This shouldn’t take you long to do – don’t over-think it! (Note– that’s easy for them to say.)

– Your most beautiful post
– Your most popular post
– Your most controversial post
– Your most helpful post
– A post whose success surprised you
– A post you feel didn’t get the attention it deserved
– The post that you are most proud of

Now this where it gets impossible. I don’t have posts in some of those categories. I’m going to have to get more controversial and more helpful fast. But here goes:

I think my most beautiful post was Unfinished Business. It is also the one I am most proud of. Can I do that? Put the same post in two categories?

I have no idea what my most popular post was. According to site stats, my busiest day was March 3, 2011, and the most visited post that day was “Lies I Tell You– Lies!” And that’s not even a post about dogs! March was my busiest month since I started blogging– it’s all been downhill from there. 😦  

As I said, I don’t have a controversial post. While I am very opinionated, I hate arguments. I’d be nauseous if I got a lot of nasty comments telling me what an idiot I was. So few people read this blog, I’m afraid of losing those who do. But maybe if I was more controversial, I could increase readership. Who knows? So if anyone wants to troll through my archives and find a post that fits the bill, feel free. 🙂

I also haven’t been particularly helpful. I suppose the only post I have that falls into the “helpful” category is this post from January about Fairy Dogparents, an organization in Massachusetts that helps people whose financial situation has gone south continue to care for their pets. I love this organization because it’s not just about the dogs, it’s about people too.

As for the post whose success surprised me… I don’t have a post that successful. I think my most successful post has about a dozen comments, including my own. Again, if any readers want to nominate their favourites, go for it. (You know, I gotta stop whining about lack of readership. Between April and June, I put up a total of five posts. You can’t complain about lack of readers if you give them nothing to read.)

A post that didn’t get the attention it deserved? For those concerned about puppy mills and dog over-population, try Puppies for Sale. For animal rescue advocates in general, I would suggest And Now For Something Completely Different.

And if I can’t nominate Unfinished Business again for the post I’m most proud of, I’ll choose Relationships, which is basically the same theme and got a lot of positive comments. That thrilled me; I was nervous putting it out there, and was so relieved when others seemed to like it too.

Now I’m supposed to nominate five more bloggers. I hate doing that. First of all, by the time this reaches me, all my friends have already done it. And one of my favourite blogs, 365 Degrees, Photos from Each Day, is just pictures– she’s not helpful or controversial, she’s just gorgeous. So I’m weasling out and only passing it on to two bloggers: Georgia Little Pea of Little Dogs on Long Leashes, and Hadassah Sabo Milner of In The Pink. Good luck with it, ladies!

This post is part of the Saturday Pet Blogger Hop.  Join in the fun here!

About one person's view

I'm the mother of three girls, three cats, and a dog. All need constant attention, but only the dog likes to go for long walks!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Dogs, friendship, pet ownership and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Seven Links

  1. Pup Fan says:

    Great list, and congrats on the award! I’m looking forward to going through the posts you selected. 🙂

  2. chesshirecat says:

    I really need to get your blog sent to me via email. I do enjoy what you do here, but I’m such an AIRHEAD, that if it’s not sent to me in an email at each new posting…I forget to come! So I’m gonna go back over your blog to see if you have a link that will simply remember for me. I hope you do…cuz I really don’t want to miss any more of your work!

  3. chesshirecat says:

    I’m connected! Yahoo!

  4. thatjenk says:

    Ha! Leave it to you to take on the 7 Links task and ignore all the rules 🙂

    But that’s okay. Because I still had fun reading the posts that were new to me. I love, love, LOVED your “Completely Different” post. Heartstrings were tugged.

    I could comment, and rant, and rave about “Puppies for Sale” forever – excellent post! But you know my thoughts on retail pet sales. And my thoughts on good breeders.

    But you know what I realised most about going back and reading your entries?

    You should write more.

    Yeah. 7 links backfired on you 🙂

    • I should do a follow-up on Puppies for Sale– those Dobermans never sold, the guy is living with six (four “puppies” and the parents) in a one-bedroom apt. He sold two, and he’ll keep the rest until they sell. But they’re not puppies anymore…

  5. The Hook says:

    Pretty cool concept!

  6. Kristine says:

    I can’t believe I’ve missed some of these! It’s a good thing, though, as now I have something awesome to read!
    There does seem to be a correlation between lack of posting and readership. After all, you say March was you most popular month and then in April you’d all but stopped writing. So get on it! Are you really that busy? 😉 I’m just teasing. Mostly. But I do love reading your blog. Since I’ve abandoned my Google Reader I don’t always see your posts until days later. Perhaps if you mosted more often, I would remember to check more often…

    But I will stop bugging you and end on a positive note.

    One of my favourite posts of yours is this one here: https://thebarkpark.wordpress.com/2011/04/03/the-old-man-and-the-dog-at-sea/

    • Google Reader? I’m on Google Reader? Have me delivered straight to your inbox by subscribing! 🙂

      I love The Old Man and the Dog At Sea too… I still can’t believe it actually happened.

  7. Well I love your blog, controversial or not! I can’t wait to catch up–your list will help me get started. Keep it up!

  8. Pamela says:

    Wonderful links. I loved rereading relationships and Kristine’s nomination for her favorite post as well. My favorite post was this one: https://thebarkpark.wordpress.com/2011/07/17/whats-in-a-name/. It’s had me thinking for the past month.

Leave a comment