Inappropriate Behaviour

Most of the time, I’m very proud of Our Best Friend. He’s come such a long way. When we first got him, he’d go nuts barking if he saw a dog blocks away. It was such an embarrassment. And if we tried to shut him up, he’d growl and snap at us. Now he can greet another dog with an appropriate sniff and tail wag, and only goes bonkers occasionally.

How good dogs behave at the park

How good dogs behave at the park

Our Best Friend does not play with other dogs. I joke that he has Asperger’s; he doesn’t get doggie social cues. When other dogs play-fight, he jumps around them, barking madly, like a canine recess monitor convinced that two kids are about to hurt each other real bad. Puppies annoy him; when they jump on him, or attempt to lick his face, he barks them off. He’s given a few dogs a bad fright, but he’s never hurt anyone. I can usually count on him to leave other dogs alone.  Most of the time, he just does a lot of sniffing, and sometimes he’ll play a short game of chase. But every so often, he takes a shine to another dog, and his behaviour can be… inappropriate.

Last time we went to the park, none of my friends were there. There was no standing about chatting; I just walked the oval path around the park, with Our Best Friend trotting along. And then he decided to make a friend.

There was a lovely brown short-haired pointer, playing in a group of dogs. OBF went over, sniffed him, and must have decided he liked the smell. Because then he proceeded to hump him. When other dogs try doing that to OBF, they get warned off pretty fast. For whatever reason, the pointer– who was clearly male, by the way– didn’t seem to care. He just stood there placidly, as if nothing was happening.

“OBF!” I yelled. “Stop that!”

He didn’t stop until I walked right up, at which point he jumped down and gave me a sideways, guilty look. I hustled him off. I didn’t know who the dog’s owner was, and no one said anything to me, so we just continued walking.

Now remember, the park’s an oval. So we walked around again… and once more, OBF went straight to the point(er).

“OBF!” I yelled. “Stop that!” And again, he didn’t stop until I was close enough to drag him off if necessary.

How cute dogs play

How cute dogs play

In all the years we’ve been going to the park, I don’t think OBF’s displayed this behaviour half-a-dozen times, and certainly never more than once (maybe twice) with the same dog. Yet he went after this poor dog at least four or five times. That pointer must have been wearing steak spice cologne. Sadly, there was one person there I know but don’t care for, because in subtle ways she makes it clear that she has a low opinion of OBF. And there he was, confirming her opinion of him as a doofus.

Other than Lady Snotball, no one reacted. Not the dog, the owner never came forward. Thankfully, no one was getting hurt, but still…. I’m sure that’s not what the pointer came to the dog park for. That’s not why anyone goes to the dog park. Not why I go, anyway. Maybe OBF has been waiting for the right dog friend for years.

Obviously there are no pictures of this event. This is a G-rated blog (most of the time), and I think if I’d pulled out my phone and said, “Wait! I need a shot for my blog! Keep going, OBF!” that might have provoked a reaction from someone. Nothing like the owner behaving as inappropriately as the dog.

So tell me– what does your dog do to embarrass you?

I'm a good boy-- honest.

I’m a good boy– honest.

About one person's view

I'm the mother of three girls, three cats, and a dog. All need constant attention, but only the dog likes to go for long walks!
This entry was posted in Dog behaviour, dog parks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Inappropriate Behaviour

  1. Mel says:

    LOL!!! Oh OBF! Did the kids teach you how to embarrass their mother in a social setting? I suspect you really know why you did what you did. The dog was clearly a “she” in “he” clothing (along with the usual male apparatus). I can hardly blame you. He clearly did not mind. 🙂

  2. Mel says:

    I mean “she” didn’t mind!

  3. Too funny! Poor OBF was probably channeling Lady Snotball.

  4. Maggie says:

    I hate to say this made me laugh… I feel your pain, though. Cooper went through a “phase” where he humped every dog that came near him. The thing that put a stop to it? Doggy daycare. I think there were enough dogs telling him “NO, WAY” that it extinguished the behavior almost entirely.

  5. Kristine says:

    I’m sorry, I suppose you didn’t necessarily mean this to be funny, but I love hearing about the crazy things other people’s dogs do. It makes me feel so much better about my own. Honestly, though, it doesn’t sound all that awful. Some dogs truly to like being humped, I’ve witnessed it several times myself. This pointer didn’t get upset, he didn’t start a fight, he may be the dog of OBF’s dreams. It’s not like anything could come of it right?

    Regardless, you probably did the right thing. Owners who just stand there while their dogs behave so inappropriately bother me greatly. Even if the pointer wasn’t hating it, you didn’t know the dog or his owner and it was right to intervene.

    I am just sorry there aren’t pictures. 😉

  6. Chris C. says:

    It would appear that OBF has simply confirmed that “boys will be boys”…I mean, when the mood strikes…well, I’ll leave it there…

  7. bev says:

    ahhhhhh, just look at him in the pix……..butter would melt. such a good boy….i loved the post.

  8. Jodi says:

    Delilah did this once to a dog at play group. She kept going back for that same dog no matter how many times she was redirected. I’ll tell you the rest of the story in person, but the end result was we left.

    Typically I let the dogs sort it out themselves, but I didn’t know this person and it wasn’t their dog and they were getting agitated, so we redirected. I know you were probably embarrassed but the dogs didn’t care. LOL they don’t hump for the same reasons we do. Can I say that?

  9. LOL. On my blog you can.

  10. Beth says:

    Your description of the event is pretty funny! Thankfully it didn’t seem to bother the Pointer or his owner.

Leave a comment