The Pet Blogger Challenge, 2015 Edition

It’s that time of year. Time to look back at what we’ve done and decide where we’re planning to go. Or, in my case, it’s more like jogging on the spot… or standing still… or maybe going backwards. (And thanks to Amy Burkert of GoPetFriendly.com for sponsoring this event.)

PBC

1. How long have you been blogging? And, for anyone stopping by for the first time, please give us a quick description of what your blog is about.

074c

It’ all about me! ME ME ME!

 

Dumb dog doesn't notice the gradual shift in content... SNORT

Dumb dog doesn’t notice the gradual shift in content… SNORT

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have been blogging since June 2010. Wow. Mostly about the dog. But the cats are creeping in…

2. Tell us one thing that you accomplished on your blog during 2014 that made you proud.

My April post pissed off Jodi Stone of Heart Like a Dog. 🙂 And my sister sent me an email telling me how much she loved my May post.

3. What lessons have you learned this year – from other blogs, or through your own experience – that could help us all with our own blogs?

I’m hearing this more and more from other bloggers. As Ben Cohen and Jerry Greenfield famously said, “If it’s not fun, why do it?” When it becomes merely labour, and not a labour of love, it’s time to re-think.

4. What have you found to be the most successful way to bring traffic to your blog, other than by writing great content?

I have no clue.  The number of subscribers doubled (from 3½ to 7), but I have no proof anyone’s reading the blog because page views are way down and comments have dried up completely. (Mind you, I’ve been absent from even my very favourite blogs, so I can’t complain about that.) My posts are automatically tweeted, but I have exactly 50 followers (honest) on Twitter, so that can’t be it. I suspect my friends are re-tweeting my posts (though I wouldn’t know because I haven’t logged on to Twitter in a hundred years). Sometimes I get referrals from CommentLuv, so commenting on other blogs does help. But none of this is a thought-out strategy, so, uh… yeah. No idea.

5. What was your most popular blog post this year? Did it surprise you that it was your most popular?

The most viewed post in 2014 was “Learning Helplessness,” but the one that garnered the most comments was last year’s Pet Blogger Challenge. 🙂  “Learning Helplessness” took me a long time to write. I revised it, agonized, and resigned myself to hearing “tl/dr” (too long, didn’t read) from everyone. That might even have been the case; “most viewed” does not necessarily mean most read. And it was anti-shock-collar; given my readership, I was preaching to the choir.

6. What was your favorite blog post to write this year?

My favourite post was “A Visit,” the one my sister like back in May. It’s highly personal and a shout-out to all the people I love best.

7. Has your policy on product reviews and/or giveaways changed this year?  If you do reviews, what do you find works best, and what doesn’t work at all? If you don’t do reviews, is this something you’d like to do more of? What hurdle is getting in your way?

Don’t do reviews. At one time I may have wanted to– now it seems more trouble than it’s worth.

8. What’s your best piece of advice for other bloggers?

Get to know your fellow bloggers– you won’t be sorry.

9. What goals do you have for your blog in 2015?

I wonder what's coming next.

I wonder what’s coming next.

None, really. Last year I jokingly said two posts per month, and that didn’t happen. So my goal  remains the same– trying not to give up.

10. If you could ask the pet blogging community for help with one challenge you’re having with your blog, what would it be?

I could use a professional photographer… Also, you can all vote this entry “Most Useless Pet Blogger Challenge Post EVER.” I have to have some claim to fame.

This is a blog hop! Hop on here

About one person's view

I'm the mother of three girls, three cats, and a dog. All need constant attention, but only the dog likes to go for long walks!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Dogs, pets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Pet Blogger Challenge, 2015 Edition

  1. Mary says:

    I for one wish you would blog more. I love your humor, and you view of the world. But hey, it’s gotta be fun.

  2. What would you have if you named your cat Muse and then she struck you? Kitty assault.

    As for inspiration, I have more than I know what to do with. But I also get it when I read other blogs. I’m a hopeless thief.

    BTW, I see from your sidebar that you have more than 3x the number of WordPress subscribers than I do. So if you’re at all competitive, maybe that will give you a lift.

    Glad you joined the challenge.

  3. Um… That’s my TOTAL number of followers, not only WP. And Something Wagging is the last blog I’d compete with– it’s an inspiration! 🙂

  4. Val Silver says:

    Have fun and blog on – good for you!

  5. Jodi says:

    Well I suppose you are going to count this as your ‘one per month’. 🙂 I miss seeing your posts, mind I don’t want you doing too many because I’m already WAY behind, but I do love the way you write.

    Thanks for taking the challenge and making me laugh. xoxo

  6. I think this was a great post! I’m glad to of gotten to know you better this year! You’ve been an awesome friend and if you ever want to chat about photography I’m here. I’m not a professional but I might be able to help a bit.

  7. Mel says:

    God I love you and your humor. You always manage to make me smile. I laughed out loud when I saw the post that pissed Jodi off. I guess she thought it was not a real post huh? I beg to differ btw. 🙂

    I loved the same one your sister did. I personally hope you blog more, but either way, as long as I can connect with you elsewhere, I am okay.

  8. Rama's Mama says:

    I am new to your blog. Just found you via the Challenge. I look forward to reading more of your blog this year. Nice to meet you!

  9. You know, I think your photos are good and I wouldn’t worry about it. It’s funny because usally the harder and harder I try on the photo, and the more “perfect” I think it is, the less response I get to it. Crappy photos are no good but there becomes a point of diminishing returns (unless you are absolutely amazing like GloGirly). People seem to respond to pictures they could see themselves taking.

    • The ones on this post aren’t terrible– I’m finally figuring out how to edit photos, both on my phone and on the computer. But when you follow blogs like Tales and Tails and Tales from the Back Road, you develop an inferiority complex. 🙂

  10. ckmorita says:

    You may be right about reviews. They can be more trouble then they are worth. Maybe that’s why I haven’t done one in a couple years.

    I bought a new camera so I could get some better photos for my blog. Now if I can just learn how to use it 🙂

    Best of luck to you and your photography in 2015!

  11. Amy says:

    Bwaaahaaahaaa! Anytime you can piss off Jodi Stone, you know you’ve done something right. 😉
    Seriously, blogging has to be something you want to do – otherwise it just becomes another chore, and none of us need that! I hope the writing bug bites you, but even if it doesn’t, we’ll always be friends. Our blogs brought us together, but the ties run deeper than that now. Thanks for participating in the Challenge. I hope it gets Jodi off your back for another four weeks. =D

  12. Shepped says:

    We recently discovered your blog and we love it! Please write more often 😀

  13. Pingback: Whither Blog? | The Dog Park

  14. AshGreen says:

    Thanks for such a nice content. Apppreciate it 🙂
    Cheers
    If anyone interested similar one’s have a look here https://petcareio.com thanks

Leave a comment