A Word From The Road

For Kristine and Shiva, and possibly a few others (ignore the grammar)

If you’re ever in Lake George, New York, be sure to stop by Backwoods Charm at 109 Canada Street. They have enough canine collectibles to delight the most serious collector of doggie items: this shirt, for example.

Lake George seems to be a fairly dog-friendly town in general (and they’re nice to people too). There are poop bag dispensers located by the visitor’s centre:

There’s even another dog store around the corner from Backwoods Charm, on Beach Street:

 

 

 

 

 

Even the Orvis outlet store had a “Dogs Welcome” sign in their window. I couldn’t get picture due to reflective glass (it kept showing what was across the street instead), but you can check out their website for proof.

I bought only one doggie-related souvenir, and it’s on my fridge:

I’m going to try to live by it.

About one person's view

I'm the mother of three girls, three cats, and a dog. All need constant attention, but only the dog likes to go for long walks!
This entry was posted in Dogs, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Word From The Road

  1. Kristine says:

    Love the magnet, and the t-shirt. I am debating on doing a google search to see if I can find a shirt just like that online.

    More and more I’ve been considering a road trip to the States. There seem to be so many dog-friendly towns down there, much more than in hicksville Nova Scotia. Thanks for the extra motivation!

  2. So you went to the lake but spent your time shopping? 🙂

    Hope you had a relaxing time.

  3. Jodi Stone says:

    That is a great motto to live by. By BFF is in Albuquerque (too far away for my tastes) but I’ve told her ‘It is what it is” so many times that she has people out there repeating it.

    The reality is that sometimes bad things happen, that doesn’t mean it should stagnate us, pick up and move on. Which I think is what you are doing my friend. 🙂

    I love your motto.

  4. sushislp says:

    Lake George will never be the same again! I guess you’ll have to bring OBF next time!

  5. sushislp says:

    This is a great one Lori- I really enjoyed! Thanks.

    Nechama Dworkind Speech-Language Pathologist Director, The Voice Box

    Sent from my iPhone

  6. Gotta love that magnet!

  7. I’m heading up to Lake George this fall, so I appreciate this post! Love the magnet. Words to live by. 🙂

  8. The Hook says:

    Sorry I haven’t been around much lately, but my book, The Bellman Chronicles, will be FREE to download on Sept. 10 – 11! Check it out on my Amazon Kindle page.. You won’t be disappointed. And if you can slip me a review, I’d be forever grateful…

  9. thatjenk says:

    That magnet is great! I’ve seen those poop bag dispensers in a few cities, and I think they should be everywhere. And I just want to draw an M on that tshirt so bad!
    Hope you’ve enjoyed your holidays! Shana tova!

Leave a comment