Meet the Blogger

My apologies to those of you who got this two days ago. Meant to hit the “publish later” button, but hit “publish now” instead. Add that to the list below– I’m not *quite* perfect. This version has pictures and edited text, so read it again. Please?

So a whole raft of pet bloggers (Amy from Go Pet Friendly, A.J. from I still Want More PuppiesDawn from NEPA Pets, Jennifer from My Brown Newfies, Jodi from Kol’s Notes, Jodi from Heart Like a Dog, Julie from The Daily Dog Blog, Kim from Cindy Lu’s Muse, Kristine from Rescued Insanity, Lauren from Life With Desmond, Leslie from Bringing up Bella, Mel from No Dog About It, and Peggy from Peggy’s Pet Place — whew!) decided, “Enough about the animals. What about the people they own?” And thus the “Meet the Bloggers” blog hop was born.

petcrazy-300x300

And those listed above are just the hosts– other people added their two cents here and there. So below please find my contribution to their efforts.

1. A current photo of the blogger. (This is a “must have”.)

Okay. Here it is. (Please remember, I blog anonymously.)

At least you know what colour hair I have.

At least you know what colour hair I have.

2. Answers to at least five, (but more if you’d like!) of the following questions:

  • What’s your favorite non-animal related book?

To Kill A Mockingbird. (The animal is purely metaphoric.) 2nd favourite, and I want everyone to read it, is Empire Falls by Richard Russo. Won the Pulitzer Prize in 2001.

  • What’s your favorite non-animal related movie?
Gregory Peck in To Kill a Mockingbird

Gregory Peck in To Kill a Mockingbird

“Good” movie? To Kill a Mockingbird with Gregory Peck. Movie that makes me cry every time? Pride and Prejudice with Keira Knightly & Matthew MacFayden. I have it on my PVR. I watch the final scene often.

  • Who’s your favourite actor?

I don’t have one anymore, now that Gregory Peck is gone. (I’m sensing a theme here.)

Fine. Scott Bakula. Don’t judge me.

  • What do you wish you were more skilled at?

I wish I could play the piano. Like, at all.

  • What’s your favorite holiday?

Purim. Or Shavuot. One of the two.

  • Favorite meal?

Onion soup, vegetarian lasagne, Caesar’s salad, and garlic bread. With sparkling wine. And a poached salmon appetizer. Chocolate cheesecake for dessert (but will settle for chocolate anything.)

  • What do you like to do in your free time?

I don’t have any. Sleep. Read a book. Waste time on Facebook. Play with the cat. Go to the dog park, but I only *like* doing that in good weather.

  • What one word would people who know you use to describe you?

Opinionated.

  • If your pets could talk, what one word would THEY use to describe you? 

Negligent… but good with affection. So negligent or affectionate. Depends on how bad the dog needs to pee.

  • What is one thing you’ve done that you’re most proud of?

I have a lot of degrees from fancy universities. I think I’m most proud of my undergraduate research study, which was published in a peer-reviewed journal.

Oh. I was supposed to say “my kids,” wasn’t I?

  • How is your pet most like you?

Barks too much, has too many opinions.

  • Other than blogging, what are three things you do that bring you joy?

bostonTravel. Hang out with friends (on-line or IRL). Chocolate. Hmmm… not sure about the order.

(I watched the entire World Series while Facebook-messaging with someone 400 miles away– so baseball only gives me true joy when shared with a friend. While eating chocolate.)

 

  • What’s one thing you could do to be more kind to yourself?

Take more “me” time. Go to more movies. Eat more sushi.

  • What drives you nuts about your pets? What melts your heart?

P1090626Did I mention the barking? One of the cats sleeps on my keyboard all the time (that kind of falls into both categories).

The cats cuddle each other. And when I come back from out of town, the dog leaps into bed beside me and won’t leave my side for hours.

  • If you didn’t have your current pets, what pets would you choose to have?

My next dog will be small, non-shedding, and female. ‘Cause male dogs pee too much. As for the cats… I can’t imagine having different cats. I raised these from 10 days old, so they’re very much mine.

I wouldn’t mind a parrot. Then someone might agree with my opinions.

P1090637

One big happy family

This is a blog hop! Hop on here! (Or any other blog listed above!)

About one person's view

I'm the mother of three girls, three cats, and a dog. All need constant attention, but only the dog likes to go for long walks!
This entry was posted in Blogging, cats, Dogs, pet ownership, pets and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Meet the Blogger

  1. thatjenk says:

    Mmm… sushi.
    TKAMB is a great book and movie! Love them both! Had to Google Scott Bakula, though. He immediately looked familiar, but I definitely wouldn’t have been able to name him.
    I have a hard time deciding if I like the Kiera Knightley P&P better than the BBC one or not. They’re both so good!

    • Scott Bakula is famous for playing Captain Jonathan Archer in Star Trek: Enterprise, and Sam Beckett in Quantum Leap. But he was in The Informant! with Matt Damon, so he’s more than just a pretty face. 🙂

  2. So glad someone else loves chocolate like me…and Gregory Peck…awesome.

  3. My cat Miso loved the laptop, and it was a constant fight to get her off. I mean one second away and she’d jump on it…It happened at least 4-5 times a day. When I got my computer cleaned there was so much cat fur in the fan and overheating the computer! So I can relate. Wonderful to meet you and learning a little about you!
    Maggie

  4. I really enjoyed reading your answers! To Kill a Mockingbird made my list (I couldn’t name just one…)

    Love Gregory Peck! I also must admit that I have had a crush on Scott Bakula since his days on Quantum Leap.

    You had me laughing throughout. (Love how your dogs would describe you. 😉

  5. Pup fan says:

    … and here I thought your favorite book was The Handmaid’s Tale. 😉

    Scott Bakula is awesome. Did you watch Chuck when he was on there?

    Also, I can play the piano. If you lived closer, I’d totally give you lessons.

    Finally, yay for baseball! (But… go Braves!)

    Loved reading your post. 🙂

    • I learned to play when I was young (around 10 or 12), but hated the teacher and gave it up. When I lived at home I would pull out the books and play for sheer fun, but sadly, I no longer remember how!

      And I’m an AL girl– go Jays!

  6. Yep, I swear you and my husband would be good friends. If you’re opinionatedness didn’t get in the way.

    He used to have a boy crush on Scott Bakula when Quantum Leap was on. 🙂

  7. I keep telling you, it’s OBVIOUS Mike & I would be buddies. We both love you. 🙂 I bet our opinionated opinions are similar!

    But I hope he will forgive me for not having watched Quantum Leap. My SB fixation comes from Enterprise. 🙂

    • Lisa says:

      You’ve never watched Quantum Leap?! How is that possible? It’s absolutely wonderful and it’s Bakula at his sexiest! I have all the seasons and I watch them, start to finish, about once a year.

  8. Nailah Bone says:

    I love To Kill a Mockingbird, never watched the movie so now I’ll have to look into that! Also kudos to you on having gotten published, that is always so exciting!

  9. Chris C. says:

    And what an AWESOME World Series it was!!

  10. Jodi says:

    Awesome answers and I think you SO cheated with that photo!! BTW, Delilah pees like a champ and she even lifts her leg to do it, so much for that theory! LOL

  11. I love chocolate anything too. I’m a dark chocolate kind of girl though. My motto used to be “the darker the better” but I have come back towards the middle after many years. I enjoy 60 – 70% most. It’s nice to “meet” you.

  12. FleaByte says:

    Scott Bakula. *sigh* Dreamy.

    I only answered five questions. I avoided things like opinionated. 😉

  13. Who doesn’t love a chocolate anything! It’s great to learn more about the hoomans behind the blogs!

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  14. I loved getting to know better and I like the fact that you are opinionated! and chocolate is good 🙂

  15. I simply can’t believe I did not put “To Kill A Mockingbird” as my favorite book or movie. Sheesh! Ok, I’m adding it here because it is amazing and I cry every time I read or watch it.

    • I always hold Atticus Finch up as an example to real people because he was a “respecter of persons.” I love that. And I love love love the way Harper Lee seamlessly blended the voice of young Scout and adult Scout with jarring the narrative in any way. A work of art.

  16. It’s so nice to meet you, and I must say I love your book and movie favorites. 🙂

  17. Julie says:

    There is nothing wrong with being opinionated 🙂 If we ever run into each other in a bar – you are going to promise me that you will say hello – cuz I still won’t know what you look like! Go Sox!!

    • When I asked The Middle Child to take the picture, she said, “You’re not putting a picture of yourself on the Internet, are you???” Don’t worry, I won’t walk by you without saying hi. 🙂

      I am SO opinionated I have another blog called “Opinions Opinions.”

  18. Mel says:

    I love To Kill a Mocking Bird – both the book and the movie. I also loved Gregory Peck and I think Scott Bakula is a fine choice. He’s a great actor. If I had to pick my old world movie actor as my favorite it would be Cary Grant. Have you ever seen Philadelphia Story? One of my favorites.

    I disagree on the negligent part. You are busy raising a family and going to school and you make your pets a part of the family interactions. Besides, it’s only a temporary thing until you are finished with school.

    Beautiful silver hair btw. 🙂

    • I LOVED Philadelphia Story: “My, she was yar.” 🙂 But my favourite Cary Grant movie is Arsenic & Old Lace.

      Funny thing about the hair. I was at a rest stop on the I-87 last night. The on-duty attendant told me, “I love your hair! I wish mine was that colour!” I get that about 50% of the time. The other 50% seem to think I have to dye it in order to be attractive.

      If this blog hop is about loving yourself, let it be known I have ALWAYS loved my white hair. Never dyed it, never will. And any dude who thinks I should is a non-starter, so potential matchmakers, keep that in mind. 🙂

  19. Hi there! Nice to get to know you a bit today!
    I have met so many new bloggers today from this hop and also got to read a ton of stuff about the ones I already read! So I am lovin this blog!!
    We are #91 if you care to come by 🙂

  20. Everything…and I do mean *everything* is better with chocolate. I loved to Kill a Mockingbord, both the book and the movie. Everything I know about Purim, I learned from the movie “Home for Purim”, so I feel like I really have absolutely no idea what the whole thing is about…but I love the movie. Does that count as having holiday spirit?

  21. Now I’m dying to know … you say you blog anonymously, so is that your real name in the email address on your About Me page? How does one blog anonymously? BTW, I love the color of your hair. Mine’s kind of salt-and-pepper, but I’m hoping it all turns the color of yours.

  22. Dawn Miklich says:

    I always wanted to be able to play the piano, although it’s not something I’ve thought of in awhile. I guess other things have gotten ahead on that list.

    As someone with 4 parrots, I can say that they definitely have their own opinion. And they often follow it up with a bite!

  23. Bev Mann says:

    Love you pix and blog. And great purrrrrfect meal. All chocolate rocks and I wouldn’t trade my cats either.

  24. Kristine says:

    Definitely am going to be adding “eat more sushi” to my resolution list now. Yum!

    Despite numerous lessons all I can play on the piano is “O Susanna”. I’d love to be able to play ANY musical instrument without making my pets run and hide.

    So glad you participated, if anonymously! Can never see too many adorable photos of YBF. 🙂

  25. Pingback: The Pet Blogger Challenge – 2014 Edition | The Dog Park

Leave a Reply

