With Love From Jodi

Jodi Stone from Life With Sampson and Delilah honoured me with the Liebster Award. According to text copied from another website, “This award is given to bloggers with less than 200 followers who deserve more recognition.”

Here are the rules:

  • Thank your Liebster Blog Award presenter on your blog.
  • Link back to the blogger who awarded you.
  • Give your top 5 picks for the award.
  • Inform your top 5 by leaving a comment on their blog.
  • Post the award on your blog.

So here goes:

  • Thank you Jodi!
  • The link is above.
  • Here is the award:

Notice there are only three criteria filled.

My question is, how do we know how many subscribers anyone has? (Okay, anyone but me, who moans continually about low readership.)

I suppose loads of comments are a clue, but if someone routinely gets 30-50 comments per post, how many readers does that represent? I don’t know the formula for how many comments represents X number of readers.

I also don’t read that many blogs (she ducks her head in shame). So to whom do I pass this on? In a motion of defeat, I nominate any of my readers who fill the criteria. Take the award and run with it.

It’s the second bit of love that’s come my way this week. Today Kristine of Rescued Insanity listed The Old Man and the Dog at Sea as one of her favourite posts of 2011. I am both chuffed and honoured.

Our Best Friend and his BFF Blackie

Feeling appreciated is very important. Support from friends matters. I even see it with Our Best Friend. He became a different dog after spending a month with Blackie in the summer of 2009. I’ve become a different blogger thanks to my on-line supporters. I just hope the love continues when controversy flares or I stick my foot in it. It’s bound to happen sooner rather than later. Until then, I’m soakin’ up the love.

About one person's view

I'm the mother of three girls, three cats, and a dog. All need constant attention, but only the dog likes to go for long walks!
This entry was posted in Awards, Blogging, friendship and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to With Love From Jodi

  1. i enjoy your blog very much. i love your wit and observations about the neighbourhood/people around you.. so CONGRATS on your liebster! it’s well deserved.

    as for readership and comments – it boggles me too how some blogs get upward of 40 per post!!! i envy them of course, and wonder how much effort they have to put into blogging to reap that kind of following!

    thanks for being my friend 🙂 x

    P.S. i’m glad i’m not the only one ducking her award responsibilities haha!

  2. Jodi says:

    Nicely done! I was perplexed on the ‘200’ reader part too. In the end I took my best guess based mostly on what I saw on their blog page “sign up here and join 100 other followers” and comments. If a blog got a lot of comments it seemed to me they had a lot of readers, I know I missed some good blogs using that method, but I’m human. 🙂

  3. Pup Fan says:

    Congrats on your award. 🙂

  4. Kristine says:

    Congratulations on your award! It is definitely well-deserved. Your blog is one of my favourites and I am continuously surprised that you don’t have more readers. Maybe if you posted more often… 😉

    What defines a “follower” anyway? Is it email subscribers? If that’s the case, I definitely don’t have 200. Is it someone who casually reads your blog? Is it someone who comments all the time? How does one even keep track, let alone guess at the number of followers for someone else? The whole concept is strange. I refuse to worry or think about it.

    Thanks for the link!

  5. Mazal tov on your award! I haven’t read your blog before because I don’t currently have a dog in my life (and am not going to while with current husband … everything has its price, sigh). But it looks like I really should!

  6. The Hook says:

    Enjoy the love! You deserve it.

  7. Jen says:

    Congratulations on your award!
    I think it’s tough to ever know how many people follow our blogs, I gave up trying to figure it out:))
    I stick my foot in my mouth all the time, so don’t worry if you ever do it, know that you are not alone:)))

Leave a Reply

