Wordless Wednesday

A gift from Our Best Friend, retrieved from the hill behind the house, two days ago:

A loaf of bread, alas no wine...

Why do the neighbours keep doing this? (Can’t believe he dropped it and I got it away from him.)

Part of the Wordless Wednesday Blog Hop. Click here to join!

About one person's view

I'm the mother of three girls, three cats, and a dog. All need constant attention, but only the dog likes to go for long walks!
This entry was posted in Dog behaviour, Neighbours and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Wordless Wednesday

  1. Pamela says:

    I’ve seen people shred up a loaf of bread to feed the ducks. Maybe your neighbors are trying to feed pterodactyls. 🙂

  2. Mel says:

    No way! Did they leave it out for the birds as Pam suggested? Or, were they leaving it out to cool? I am amazed you managed to wrestle it away form OBF. Jasper and Daisy would have gobbled it down before I ever got to it.

  3. He just dropped it and sniffed, and I snatched it. It was half-frozen, yet less stale than the first loaf. Believe me, he would have eaten it if I let him. He stood there as I took the picture, wagging his tail hopefully, followed me to the garbage, and stared at the closed lid with laser vision, trying to drill a hole in the top.

  4. Prudence would have gobbled this up in a heartbeat, frozen just would have slowed her down a bit!

  5. Pup Fan says:

    Bella is a bread addict – I’m impressed that OBF managed to show such restraint!

  6. Kristine says:

    That’s hilarious! Your neighbourhood may be crazier than mine, and that is saying a lot. Does OBF find peanuts everywhere too?

  7. Jodi Stone says:

    I say, WTF? What are they playing at? Do you think it is tainted somehow and they are trying to kill something (or someone?)

    Have you tried tossing it back over?

    • As it could come from behind the house or either side, I wouldn’t know where to toss it back.

      I hope there is no nefarious intent here. Someone pointed out that it might even be squirrels stealing from the trash. If so, I stole their winter stash– or Our Best Friend did. 🙂

  8. it’s A Mystery. maybe you could ask the neighbour[s]?

    people love dumping bread here too. Georgia often finds a scrap or a bun on the street. today, it was a bun-size piece with black mould. very appetizing. i yanked her leash very quickly! there’s actually a park nearby where all the dogs know to run to a bushy area. apparently, a homeless man chucks bread there for the birds [and rats]. a homeless man with access to that much bread is impressive ;P

    Happy New Year btw! hope you’re having a great holiday [mystery loaves aside] 🙂 x

  9. Jodi Stone says:

    I know you think you’ve been a bad blogger this year, but I don’t!! I love your blog posts and get that sometimes people are busy, I just wanted to let you know I am awarding you the Liebster Award because I love your blog!

    You can check it out here

    http://jodistone.wordpress.com/2012/01/01/hello-2012/

    Congratulations and Happy New Year!!

  10. The Hook says:

    Wow! That’s quite a loaf of bread!

  11. thatjenk says:

    That. Is. So. Weird.

    I suspect raccoons, maybe. We don’t have those here, but I’m given to understand they are very resourceful. Though I doubt they’d leave such a feast unattended unless they were scared away.

Leave a Reply

