End of Year

I’ve been a bad blogger this year. If Santa based naughty-or-nice on your blog-writing  commitment, I would have received a container of toothpicks.

I wish I could say that my New Year’s resolutions for 2012 are to blog regularly, to walk the dog daily, and to have a lot of fun doing it. But I don’t really believe in New Year’s resolutions. I used to make them every year when I was a kid, and I don’t think  I ever stuck to one of them, so I resolved to stop making them.

Alas, the stress of life interferes.

As some people know (I didn’t really want to advertise it), I went back to school in September. I have a lot of degrees that have gotten me nowhere, for reasons that depress me to think about. A few weeks into this program, which involves a four-hour commute every week to a city in another province, I discovered that this degree might lead me nowhere as well. I spent the term in an agony of indecision of whether or not to drop out. I suffered, my health suffered, my writing suffered, the Spouse suffered, the dog suffered, and I suppose the kids suffered as well, though I tried my best not to let my issues affect them. I managed to complete the term, and have signed up for two more courses in January. I will give it three weeks. If it makes me crazy, that will be the end of that.

And, if I drop out, then I’ll have lots of time to walk the dog and brood about my unemployment. When I was in my twenties, I never had a problem finding jobs. I worked in book stores, linen stores, and paid for two degrees working part-time at a bank. Take yourself out of the workforce for fourteen years to raise kids, and it’s not so easy to go back. Especially when most jobs in my neck of the woods require bilingualism. Even more frustrating, I know people who use only English in their day-to-day work… but had to take a bilingualism exam anyway, even though they don’t need the second language for the job. It’s just the nature of the political climate here.

So between school and not-working stress, I guess I went AWOL for a while. Am I back? I’d like to say yes, but who knows. The older I get, the more stress affects me. No resolutions, no promises.

But I would like to thank some people who made 2011 special for me. Edie Jarolim introduced me to the world of blog hops and the dog blog community in general, so I guess she goes first. Then, in no particular order, Lori, who is still enjoying life on the road; Kristine, who gave me a chance to guest-post on her blog, and whose writing I have missed so much during my hiatus; Kari and Peggy, even though I can’t leave comments on their blogs for some mysterious reason (both of them have puzzled over it, sometimes it works sometimes it doesn’t!); Jen, a fellow Canadian who reminds me regularly it could be colder and gets me to walk the dog; A.J., who adds laughter to my life; Mel, who should not be allowed out in the rain because sugar melts in water; Aleksandra, who fills me with photography envy; and finally Pamela, a “ganse mensch” to whom I owe a huge apology for being the WORST TRIBERR MEMBER EVER.

I also want to thank the people who bothered to press the subscribe button, and those who leave comments on the rare days I put up a post; friends who read what I post to Facebook; and finally, my sister, the biggest support system a frustrated and confused middle-aged woman ever had.

And now, to satisfy those who only read this for the dog bits, here’s an end-of-year picture of Our Best Friend, on our way back from visiting the in-laws last week. (This time he didn’t eat any doors.)

100 mg of Benadryl and I'm still awake...

About one person's view

I'm the mother of three girls, three cats, and a dog. All need constant attention, but only the dog likes to go for long walks!
This entry was posted in Blogging, friendship, Pet travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to End of Year

  1. Julie says:

    I’m with you- I have totally neglected my blog for just about the whole month of December – and the more I neglect writing – the worse I feel about myself. I’m sorry to hear that school didn’t go as planned 😦 I hope 2012 brings you everything you need to relieve any stress you are feeling 🙂 I look forward to reading your posts!!

  2. Pamela says:

    If the posts you’ve written bring you any joy, and if your posts bring joy to others (and I know this is true), then you’re a successful blogger. Take pleasure in what you do when you do it.

    Thank you for your kind words. I’ve always wanted to be a cool yiddish word. But I always figured it would be schlemiel, not mensch. 🙂

    I hope 2012 brings you clarity in your path. And we’ll be here waiting when you’re ready to blog about it.

  3. Nechama says:

    I have truly missed your blog posts. Don’t stop writing! OBF looks great! I hope that this semester will be smooth and stress-free!

  4. 2browndawgs says:

    Awe Your Best Friend looks all tuckered out. Must have had a good time.

    Hope your 2012 is wonderful and you figure it all out. 🙂

  5. Kristine says:

    I am so sorry school isn’t going like you wanted it to. Life is so frustrating at the best of times and I know exactly what it is to be overwhelmed. In fact, I am kind of there right now.
    I think blogging is supposed to be fun. If it’s not fun, or if it’s stressing you out, then it’s okay to do something else. There are no rules. Write when you want to, don’t write when you don’t want to. Regardless, I will be here, reading along.

    I don’t believe in resolutions either. Mostly because I always break them. 😛 But I hope this year helps clear out some of the frustration for you and leaves you feeling much more confident about things.

    • That’s the saddest part… the blogging doesn’t stress me out, I get stressed out because I think I should be doing something else… homework, dishes, what-have-you… I lose the fun elements in life when I’m over-stressed. But I have to admit, keeping up with all the wonderful bloggers out there becomes difficult at times. I’ll never read everything i missed in the last month, and that makes me sad…

      • Mel says:

        I was just speaking with a friend about this very thing. I think Lori that you read what you want to read. There is just too much to try and keep up anymore. I too have found that I am stressed because I am feeling like I am not doing something else I should be doing. But if we don’t let a little joy in our lives what do we have?

  6. Kristine says:

    And thanks for the shout-out. And for all of your kindness. I don’t want to get all mushy but your support has been amazing.

  7. Pup Fan says:

    You know, I was just thinking about you last night actually and was going to send you a note – and now here you are in my Google Reader feed with a new post! It’s good to read a post from you – and I just want to say thank you for all the kind words you left on my blog over the year – I feel very lucky that I’ve gotten to know you out here in blogland. I hope that 2012 is good to you, and whenever you do have a chance to blog, I’ll definitely be here to read it! 🙂

  8. Thanks so much, hoping to catch up with all of Bella’s antics soon. And of course, the terrible Friday puns. 🙂

  9. Mel says:

    Who says you’re not a successful blogger??? Are you kidding me? 🙂

    I am not a resolution person either (although strangely I am feeling like I might actually do some this year – who knows why?). I have found that making them feels more like pressure and commitment (hmmm… some issues here?) than fun.

    I also had a hiatus from blogging after Lady went missing and after she returned. I can relate to the stress and how it affects you (and me). I think I was just so emotionally wrung out that writing seemed like the last thing I was capable of doing. I suspect that you must be feeling a bit the same. I am so sorry that you are facing the possibility that this career path may not lead to where you wanted it to go, but please know you are not alone. I am going through much of the same thing right now (although I cannot claim to have had children) and it is frustrating and confusing and downright debilitating sometimes. I hope that your new classes will show more promise than you are expecting.

    BTW – OBF is still as handsome as ever. Was he a little introspective in this picture? Thinking about doors perhaps? 🙂
    Thanks for comparing me to sugar, but I assure you I am not even close. My momma would tell you if you asked her. 🙂

  10. It’s amazing the stress we’re ALL under these days. The job market is crazy, qualifications not only change but differ from place to place (plenty of Russian doctors and Pakistani engineers driving cabs in this city), and life can change in a blink of an eye. No wonder half the world is on happy pills.

  11. tukamann says:

    Oy…… U gave YBF Benadryl? He certainly looks out of it……..and it’s a good thing he didn’t eat anything other than his food. Lol.
    I really enjoy reading your blogs. You are a wonderful writer. Give yourself credit for the many things you do well. Keep blogging and may your second semester be what you want it to be.

  12. Jodi Stone says:

    I think you sell yourself short, if you like blogging and blog when you feel the desire to, then who’s to say you aren’t successful?
    I do think you should walk YBF more. 😉

  13. The Hook says:

    Good luck in the New Year – with all your endeavours!

  14. thatjenk says:

    Aww, thanks! Being banished from the blogosphere regularly had me wondering how you and OBF had been doing, and I do hope you find the right recipe to manage all your commitments. If the blog suffers a bit as a result (which it doesn’t look like it has been at al!), we all will understand (though miss you terribly).

    I hear you about the unhelpful degrees, though! I’ll be starting a new/additional program soon myself that I hope will open up some new doors.

Leave a Reply

