Spoke Too Soon

Our poor dog (maybe that would make a better, more accurate, pseudonym than Our Best Friend) isn’t getting a much better life on the road than he does at home.

Yesterday he got a 50-minute walk in a beautiful wooded area with trails not five minutes from the Sister-in Law’s house. Then he was stuck at home the rest of the day, other than a 2o-minute walk at 9:45.

Today we are going out for most of the day, and I got up extra-early so Our Best Friend could have another great walk before being abandoned. Except I woke to pouring rain.

That is not good. Our Best Friend goes stir-crazy locked up all day, without enough exercise to let out his abundant energy. Then again, he hates the wet. Passionately.

The Damage Done

And The Spouse’s mother can’t take him out, as she’s in the midst of a very painful bout of sciatica. He can’t be let out on the deck, either. The other day a health-care worker stopped by to see the MiL; as the nurse had expressed a fear of dogs, the MiL obligingly put him out on the back porch. In his desperation to get back inside where people were, he destroyed the sliding screen door and gouged out a significant amount of wood from the other door. The Spouse was beside himself when we discovered the damage. I was just nauseous.

So I braved the elements and went for a wet walk. We left him food and water and the MiL for human companionship. I couldn’t leave treats because he’s gained a significant amount of weight, and is on a diet. While I’ve enjoyed keeping up with our daily walks, and I’m happy he’s not with a sitter, I don’t think Our Best Friend has benefited much from this vacation.

About one person's view

I'm the mother of three girls, three cats, and a dog. All need constant attention, but only the dog likes to go for long walks!
This entry was posted in Dog behaviour, pet ownership, Pet travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spoke Too Soon

  1. chesshirecat says:

    I do love these stories. Tank you. 🙂

  2. Pamela says:

    I’m sorry to hear about the damage to MiL’s house. I hope it can be repaired easily.

    It’s hard to meet the needs of both the people and the dogs in your life. But try not to sweat it too much. Being anxious won’t make anyone feel better.

    Hope, dog anxiety aside, you’re still having a nice visit.

  3. The Hook says:

    Overall, your Best Freind usually has it pretty good, so don’t feel too bad.

  4. Kristine says:

    Yuck, that’s awful. One of the reasons I’ve never brought Shiva into anyone else’s house is because I am so worried she would destroy things. But family is different and I am sure they understand. OBF is in a brand new environment. It’s going to be stressful. But the only way to help him relax in new places is to take him to new places. It’s a catch-22.

    Even if he isn’t having the best of times, I am still positive he is happier with you than he would have been at home.

    • He’s generally NOT destructive– it was sheer terror at being locked outside. He doesn’t have separation anxiety, he has abandonment anxiety. He’d do the same thing at home.

      Take Shiva places– just stay with her at all times. 🙂 AND NO DRIVE-THROUGHS (still one of the funniest stories I’ve ever heard).

  5. Kari says:

    OH no, sorry to hear about the damage!

    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com

  6. tukamann says:

    I am the sister in law and the dog is welcome anytime. He has his issues just like everyone. The door can be repaired which I will do….. as well as the screen. The next step will be to have OBF and my best friends, two felines, decide that being friends would be a good thing. We did introduce them. And there was a standoff and then my male cat puffed up his fur all over and ran away. Oh we we will try again.

  7. thatjenk says:

    Oh dear! I hope the in-laws weren’t too upset with the damage – nearly anything can be fixed. He may not be enjoying every instance, but travelling with OBF will be a good confidence building exercise for everyone, I think.

  8. Pingback: Home Sweet Home | The Dog Park

  9. Pingback: End of Year | The Dog Park

Leave a Reply

