Happy Canada Day!

Canada Day Cake, courtesy of Kraft Canada

Sunshine this morning– the first hint of sun in about three days, during which rain threatened and threatened but never really fell. In typical Canadian fashion, the temperature has gone from a high of about 18 (64 F) yesterday to an expected high of 26 (79) today, but with the humidity it’s going to feel more like 31 (87F).  (And if someone knows how to insert degree symbols into WordPress, let me know.)

So what better way to start a holiday weekend when it’s going to be too hot to do anything than by an early-morning trip to the dog park.  If you consider 8:00 a.m. early, which I do; in fact, for me, it’s practically the middle of the night.

Leaving the Spouse and children still asleep, Our Best Friend and I went off to his favourite place. I expected it to be empty, everyone sleeping in or away on this holiday morn, but there were about a dozen people there, including Marilyn, my friend the spaniel breeder. She had been up at 6:00, watching last night’s coverage of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge (Will and Kate for my American readers) on their visit to Ottawa. We discussed politics, patriotism, and the Canadian education system. Her dogs slobbered on the skirt I put on fresh this morning. Our Best Friend ran around, doing his own thing, which meant being on the look-out for people throwing balls.

I was there a good half-hour, enjoying the company and the weather, but had to get back so the self-employed Spouse could get to the office. (No rest for the wicked, not even on statutory holidays.) If the children get up, maybe we’ll go to the park, or do something to mark our country’s birthday. If they sleep, I’m going to take advantage of the peace to kick back, relax, and not take anything seriously. After all, it’s not everyday a friend turns 144.

About one person's view

I'm the mother of three girls, three cats, and a dog. All need constant attention, but only the dog likes to go for long walks!
This entry was posted in dog parks, Dogs, Holidays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Happy Canada Day!

  1. thatjenk says:

    Happy Canada Day!
    Will alt 248 give you a degree symbol?
    Having slept in a tent last night (and for the next 2), I do wish our forecast was more like yours, but I also know I’d probably complain about the heat if it was (even if it were a “dry” heat).
    Enjoy the long weekend!

  2. BM says:

    Keep writing……I love the reading.

  3. Kristine says:

    Try alt+0176, like this ° and this °. Whee! That was fun.

    I hope you enjoyed the day, even if you had to get up so early. 8 am always feels like sleeping in to me these days. 😛 Stupid dog.
    Since my husband is stuck working this weekend too we are also just hanging around town. But at least we got to see the fireworks!

  4. The Hook says:

    Great Canada Day post!

Leave a Reply

